The official languages are Maltese and English. Maltese is a language of Semitic origin written in the Latin script. Over the centuries, it has incorporated many words derived from English, Italian and French.


Malta introduced the € Euro in January 2008

Banks & Currency Exchange

Banks are normally open between 08.30 a.m. and 12.30 p.m. from Monday to Friday, and up to 11.30 a.m. on Saturday. Some banks work longer hours. Summer and winter opening hours may differ.

Exchange Bureaus at Malta International Airport are open 24 hours a day. International bankcards are accepted and foreign currency is easily exchanged. Banks, Automated Teller Machines (ATMs) and exchange bureau can be found all over the Islands.

Many hotels and larger shops and restaurants can exchange currency. The exchange slip is required to change local currency back to foreign denominations on departure. Exchange rates offered by hotels, restaurants and shops are generally inferior to those available at banks.

Credit Cards

Most hotels and restaurants, as well as many shops, accept Access, American Express, Carte Blanche, Diners Club International, MasterCard and Visa.


The electrical supply is 240 volts, 50 H. The three-pin rectangular plug system is used, as in Britain.
Adapters are very easy to find.

Time Difference

Malta is on Central European Time (CET), which is 1 hour ahead of GMT in winter and 2 hours ahead between the last Sunday in March and the last Sunday in October. Malta is 6 hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time (EST) in winter and 7 hours ahead between the last Sunday in March and the last Sunday in October.

Value-Added Tax

VAT on accommodation is charged at 5%, otherwise the rate is 18%.

Food, medicines, education, exports, maritime services, air, sea and public transport are exempt from VAT.

Public Holidays

Public holidays observed in Malta are:

1st January - New Year’s Day

10th February - St. Paul’s Shipwreck

19th March - St. Joseph

31st March - Freedom Day

March / April (date changes) - Good Friday

1st May Labour Day

7th June Sette Giugno

29th June - St Peter and St Paul (L-Imnarja)

15th August The Assumption (Santa Marija)

8th September Our Lady of Victories

21st September - Independence Day

8th December - Immaculate Conception

13th December Republic Day

25th December - Christmas Day